Preseason NFL Awards


Here’s a look at my picks of who I think will take home some hardware this year for individual achievements.

1) MVP + Offensive Player of the Year– My MVP and Offensive Player of the Year pick for this season is Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers. Rodgers, who of course is coming off an incredible postseason run as quarterback leading the Packers to a Super Bowl victory, is coming into this new season with a lot of momentum. The reason I pick Rodgers though is not only because he’s the hottest quarterback in the NFL right now, but he is also getting weapons on the offense back that he did not have from last year’s postseason run including a running game with Ryan Grant and his great tight end Jermichael Finley. I predict Rodgers will win the award leading the Packers to the best record in the NFC this year.

2) Defensive Player of the Year– I’m going to go out on a limb on this one, but I am going to predict that Ndamukong Suh is going to win this award this year. As long as Suh plays every game being what people call a “dirty player” for having a lot of illegal hits, Suh will lead what should be the best defensive line in football this year in the Detroit Lions. I believe that leadership along with his tremendous ability will give him votes to win this award.

3) Offensive Rookie of the Year– I’m going to go with Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones for this one. The receiver from Alabama is going to be around a teriffic offense led by Matt Ryan, Michael Turner and Roddy White and I think that this will give Jones matchup problems for most defenses. Throughout preseason, he has already shown an electrifying ability that he possesses and he will make that already potent Alanta offense even stronger.

4) Defensive Rookie of the Year– This award I am going to give to Patrick Peterson, the cornerback for the Arizona Cardinals. Even though Cam Newton was drafted first by the Carolina Panthers, many people thought that the LSU cornerback was the best pure player in last years draft. Combine this with an NFC West division that is really lacking in great passing games and I think Peterson can really shut down a lot of opponenets great receivers.

What are your picks for these awards? Let me hear what you think!!

About Steve Palmatier

My name is Stephen Palmatier. I'm from Quincy, Massachusetts. I graduated from North Park University in Chicago, Illinois in May of 2011 with a degree in Communications/Media Studies. I wrote for the sports section in my school paper this past year. I currently am volunteering for an internship at KICY Radio in Nome, Alaska! I have a deep passion about sports and I follow what is going on every day.
This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment